The University of California, San Francisco sits within the University of California system. The University of California is governed by the 26-member Board of Regents which has authority over university policies, financial affairs, tuition, and fees. The board appoints the university president. 

Michael V. Drake
President, University of California

UC San Francisco Leadership

Sam Hawgood, MBBS

Daniel Lowenstein, MD
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Deans and Directors

Nicquet Blake, PhD
Vice Provost, Student Academic Affairs
Dean, Graduate Division

Catherine L. Gilliss, PHD, RN, FAAN
Dean, School of Nursing
Associate Vice Chancellor, Nursing Affairs

Thomas Kearney, PharmD
Interim Dean, School of Pharmacy

Talmadge E. King Jr., MD
Dean, School of Medicine

Michael Reddy, DMD, DMSc
Dean, School of Dentistry

George Rutherford, MD
Acting Executive Director, Global Health Sciences

Central Administration

Michael Clune, PhD
Senior Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Erin Gore
Senior Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration

Won Ha
Vice Chancellor, Communications

Erin Hickey
Interim Vice Chancellor, University Development and Alumni Relations

Corey Jackson
Associate Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Renee Navarro, MD, PharmD
Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Outreach

Theresa O’Brien, PhD
Associate Chancellor

Greta Schnetzler, JD
Chief Campus Counsel

Chris Shaffer
University Librarian
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Academic Information Management

Brian Smith
Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer

Francesca Vega
Vice Chancellor, Community and Government Relations

Keith Yamamoto, PhD
Vice Chancellor, Science Policy and Strategy